What is Reckless Driving by Speed in Virginia?
By admin | | FAQs, Traffic, Video, Wills
The Jackson Law Group Explains What Reckless Driving by Speed Might Mean for You in Virginia
A common question we get from potential Virginia traffic clients is “What is reckless driving by speed?” There are two reasons a Virginia law enforcement officer can charge you with reckless driving by speed.
The first is any time you are going more than 80 miles per hour on a Virginia interstate. For example, if an officer uses radar to clock you at 81 miles per hour in a 65 zone, you can be charged with reckless driving by speed.
The second reason you can be charged with reckless driving by speed is for going 20 miles per hour or more over the speed limit on any Virginia roadway, including interstates and secondary roads.
Reckless driving by speed is a class 1 misdemeanor which means it is punishable by a maximum of 12 months in jail and a $2,500 fine. This is a serious charge! Since the charge is criminal, a conviction will show up on background checks. In addition, a driver convicted of reckless driving should expect to receive points on their license and could face potential auto insurance increases.
Click to download our FREE e-report which includes additional questions we commonly get from potential clients regarding their speeding ticket and reckless driving charges.
Our Virginia speeding ticket and reckless driving attorneys regularly handle cases in Carroll County, Wythe County, and Bland County. Call us in Hillsville at 276.728.3737 or in Wytheville at 276-777-7609. For more information you can also e-mail us at firstname.lastname@example.org.